Scratches at my door

Uncategorized

It’s been three nights!  Three nights that I hear scratches at my door. The only thing I want to do when I hear those scratches is to sink more into my blankets and erase all images I get about being devoured by a wolf. Although I have no idea what kind of animal it could be, I always come with the image of a wolf wanting to get in through this side of the house because it’s the side facing the estuary and the woods, which wouldn’t expose him too much.

 That morning I asked Dolkar. I caught him on the path to the enclosure.

 “Dolkar?!” I was out of my breath.

 “Yes?” Seeing that I was out of my breath he asked “Something’s wrong?” He said looking concerned.

 “Yes, I’m okay, well…actually, I’m worried about something…”I said “Do you know what animal could be scratching at my door every single night since I arrived?

 “It’s probably Tenzin…” he said with a knowing grin.

 “Who?” I stopped breathing for a couple of seconds to be able to hear his answer clearly.

 “I bet it’s Tenzin. The otter. She’s really annoying that one, she’s one cheeky otter” he said and chuckled.

 “Ah…an otter…” I said and blushed “I thought it was a wolf, hahaha!” I could finally release all that compressed fear that had been building up every night for now three nights.

 “Nah. Wolves never come this close, they’re very respectful, they only mind their business, and besides, they get plenty of food in the steppes, so they don’t really go too hungry…” he said again with a grin on his face.

 I saw that Dolkar was planning, I could almost see him thinking.

 “Come Ilan! Let’s see if we can find her so I can introduce you to her” he exclaimed.

Leave a Reply

