Lessons from Nature

Uncategorized

Woken up by a pack of wild wolves of the mountains, that’s something I’ve never thought would happen to me. And I hardly believed Yarlung when he told me that his house and the territory around for miles was within the territory of those wolves. It’s a funny feeling. Breakfast with the wolves. Sipping my herbal tea whilst hearing howls that were really close. I’d swear that I heard one of them panting in the woods just ahead! “We better have them close” he said “it may sound crazy, but this pack keeps other wolves far from this place. As long as they howl, we’ll be okay.”

“Why would he say that?” I thought He saw clearly that I was surprised

“While you are here, Ilan, I’ll teach you the way of nature, and that also includes patterns of thinking that most people have lost contact with, a loooong time ago. But I’m sure that you will get all of it very quickly. I can see all the work you have done with your horse. It will feel like a continuation of your own education, Ilan.”

“Sooo….those wolves, they actually think we are part of their pack and so they’d protect us?” I asked.

“Not exactly. If you don’t live with the pack, you have no option to take any of their roles. Each wolf in the pack has a set of rules, a behavior pattern that they have to respect and accomplish. The leader, for example, is protected by the beta male, the strongest of all wolves in the pack. You would think that the leader would be the strongest and fittest, but it is not. The rest of the wolves, need his intelligence, and above all, they need him not to get into fights, because that could cause him his death. That’s why in a pack, the beta male will be always willing to risk his life for the leader. It’s in their genetic code.”

Dolkar came into the circle and before he sat with us, he added a log to the fire. “There you have some tea, Dolkar” said Yarlung and offered a warm and steaming cup to the kid.

Dolkar smiled and said “I’m sorry…”

“Ah…good” said the old man.

I didn’t get it.

“I’m sorry I was arrogant with you, Ilan” he said looking at me.

“It’s ok…” I said.

“No, no, I’m really sorry. I wasn’t angry with you. It’s that horse… “ he started.

“Oh! You mean the black horse? Shobog….” I exclaimed worried that he’d had problems with him.

“No! Not yours! I love that horse, you must have an amazing relationship with him. He follows you wherever you go. Yesterday I had not a bit of trouble to take him into the enclosure, and this morning he was the first to come out and greeted me. I’ve never had that before, I’ve only ridden reindeer. “

He was talking in the circle with the participation of an adult, so we were listening with all our might. And he continued. “It’s that mustang…” and his face darkened.

“I think I know what’s happening” said the old man “It’s been a while that he wants a horse,” he said to me “but until now, he hasn’t been able to catch it.”

“Catch it?!” I shouted “No, no, no. You don’t catch a horse!”

They both looked at me surprised.

“With that Dolkar, I can certainly help you” I said

One thought on “Lessons from Nature

Leave a Reply

